Performance evaluation remains a topic of significant concern in the area of distributed and mobile systems as well as for Web-based services architectures. With the recent advances in Internet based applications as well as distributed and mobile communication systems, we are witnessing the sustained emergence of various new technologies, with new performance characterization. Furthermore, these systems are becoming very large and complex at the same time. Several challenges remain to be resolved before these systems can become a commodity; typically guaranteeing QoS and provisioning of web-based systems as well as distributed and mobile systems and evaluating their communication performance stand among the most challenging problems in the design of these systems. Quantitative analysis can be very difficult to perform, and even intractable because of the size of the state space. Promising new methods and tools have recently emerged for such complex systems, such as Stochastic Automata Networks, Stochastic bounds, PEPA, just to mention a few.

This workshop focus on the performance evaluation of both distributed and mobile systems, as well as Web based services architectures using both analytical methods and simulation studies. Authors are encouraged to submit full papers presenting new research related to QoS and communication performance evaluation of these systems. Submitted papers must not have been published elsewhere nor currently be under review by another conference or journal.

Important dates

Paper submission deadline: 15 February 2012 (Extended)
Notification of acceptance: 15 March 2012
Camera-ready paper due: 15 April 2012

Topics of interest include (but are not limited to)

Performance evaluation of distributed, mobile and web-based systems
Measurement, analysis, modelling
Tools and software for performance evaluation
Simulation and measurements techniques
QoS for Web services architectures
Web services composition
Quantitative analysis and stochastic models
Network Protocols design for Web service devices
Routing optimization and bandwidth management

Paper Submission and Publication

Authors are invited to submit original unpublished work, not currently under review by another workshop, conference, or journal. Full papers should be limited to 6 pages (in IEEE double column format), including text, figures and references. Two additional pages (i.e. 8 pages in total) may be allowed but will be charged additional fees. Authors should use only standard fonts, i.e. Times Roman, Courier, Symbol, Helvetica or equivalent.

Papers must be submitted electronically via EDAS. All papers will be reviewed by Technical Program Committee members and other experts active in the field to ensure high quality and relevance to the conference.

The authors of accepted papers must guarantee that their papers will be presented at the conference. At least one author of each accepted paper must register for the conference in order for that paper to appear in the IEEE proceedings and to be scheduled for presentation.

The authors of the best papers will be invited to submit a revised and extended version of their papers after the workshop to a related special issue of the Journal of Computational Science, Elsevier.

For additional information, please contact the workshop Co-Chairs: Jean-Charles Grégoire ( and Badii Jouaber (

General Chair

Lynda Mokdad, University of Paris 12, France

Program Co-chairs

Jean-Charles Grégoire, INRS-EMT, Canada
Badii Jouaber, Institut Telecom / Telecom SudParis, France

Steering Committee

Jalel Ben-Othman, University of Versailles, France
Azzedine Boukerche, University of Ottawa, Canada
Lynda Mokdad, University de Paris-Est, France

TPC Members

Paolo Ballarini, University of Paris-Est, France
Walid Ben Ameur, Telecom SudParis, France
Jalel Ben-Othman, University of Versailles, France
Azzedine Boukerche, University of Ottawa, Canada
Hind Castel, Telecom SudParis, France
Halima Elbiaze, Université du Québec à Montréal, Canada
Luca Fochini, University of Bologna, Italy
Hacene Fouchal, University de Reims, France
Jean-Charles Grégoire, INRS-EMT, Canada
Badii Jouaber, Institut Telecom/Telecom SudParis, France
Karim Jouini,  Université Paris-Est, France
Lynda Mokdad, University de Paris-Est, France
Mirela Notare, Barddal University, Brazil
Marie-Ange Remiche, Faculté Universitaire Notre Dame de la Paix, Belgium
Sovanna Tan, Université Paris-Est, France
Damla Turgut, University of Central Florida, USA
Soraya Zertal, University of Versailles, France